Office of the State Attorney
Michael J. Satz, State Attorney
17th Judicial Circuit, Broward County FL
Truancy Diversion Program
The Truancy Diversion Program is a diversion program designed to accommodate the special needs of Defendants charged with failing to require that their child or children attend school. The policies regarding such are similar to the standard M.D.P. with the following modifications: The initial application will be offered by an Assistant from the Truancy Unit at arraignment, or by mail on written pleas of not guilty, with a deadline for application to the program specified therein. The legal residency requirement above is waived but applicants must provide a verifiable address. The Applicant is permitted to have one prior misdemeanor offense (other than a weapons charge or one similar to the instant offense) but if having such, must not have failed to successfully complete any type of supervision required. There is a $150.00 application fee that must be paid within 30 days of application to the Office of the State Attorney, in addition to any of the costs of supervision that must be paid to the program. Questions regarding this program should be referred to the Truancy Intervention Program of the Office of the State Attorney.
Misdemeanor Diversion Program (MDP)
The Misdemeanor Diversion Program (M.D.P.) is a diversion program that affords first time offenders an opportunity to immediately accept responsibility for their actions, seek rehabilitation, and divert their cases from the criminal court system. M.D.P. is administered and supervised by Broward Sheriff’s Office Probation for this judicial circuit. Eligibility requirements and approval for entry into M.D.P. will be determined at arraignment.
Felony Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI)
The Felony Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) program is a diversion program operated by the Florida Department of Corrections. The purpose of the PTI program is to afford first time felony offenders the opportunity to avoid the stigma of a criminal conviction by diverting their case from the trial court process. Defendants charged with a qualifying third degree felony may be approved for this program.
For additional information regarding Felony Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) please click here or call 954-831-6371.
Domestic Violence Misdemeanor Diversion Program
Domestic Violence Misdemeanor Diversion is designed for those offenders who wish to participate in a program aimed at reversing the cycle of domestic violence and keeping the family unit intact. This program requires the offender to complete a 26 week Batterer’s Intervention Program, as well as a substance abuse evaluation and/or other recommended treatment if deemed necessary. The defendant must enter a guilty plea to the charges in order to participate in this eight month program. If the defendant successfully completes the program, the plea will be vacated and the case will be nolle prossed (dropped). This will allow the offender to then apply to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement in a separate proceeding to seal or expunge their criminal record if otherwise legally eligible.
Eligibility for the Domestic Violence Misdemeanor Program includes the offenses of Battery, Assault, Stalking, Criminal Mischief and Disorderly Conduct. Whether the Battery charges are eligible for diversion is determined on a case by case basis dependent upon the facts surrounding the charge. The defendant must have no prior adult felony arrests and/or convictions and not more than one prior conviction for a non-violent misdemeanor crime. A defendant is only permitted to participate in this program once in a lifetime. Additionally, the victim must consent to the defendant’s participation in this program.
For additional information regarding the Domestic Violence Misdemeanor Diversion program minimum eligibility requirements, please click here.
DWLS Diversion Program
The DWLS (Driving While License Suspended) Program is designed to promote public safety, to encourage drivers to drive safely with a valid driver’s license and with appropriate insurance coverage, and to satisfy their financial obligations. Eligible defendants charged with Driving While License Suspended, upon completion of the program, will have the charge changed to the criminal charge of Driving with No Valid Driver’s License (No Valid D.L.). There is a $100.00 application fee that must be paid within 30 days of application to the Office of the State Attorney, in addition to any of the costs of supervision that must be paid to the program. The eligibility for the program, its requirements, and procedural considerations are described in the 17th Judicial Circuit Administrative Order No. VI-07-N-1 or any subsequent revisions thereto.
Alternatives to Formal Processing of Juveniles Cases
There are a number of alternatives to formal processing of cases involving juveniles that have been developed County wide over the last dozen or so years. Some involve the SAO making referrals directly (diversion and juvenile drug court), others involve the SAO collaborating with development of criteria, process, procedure and continued oversight (PROMISE and Civil Citation). The programs are as follows:
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response
to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.